Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Yesterday I got really depressed. Someone at school decided to show the entire 8th grade a movie during periods 1-3. What a stupid idea! Of course, when they came to my class during 4th period they were off the wall. One of my students decided it would be funny to bang on the outside of my door about 10 minutes after the class began. I quickly went over to the door and he ran. I grabbed his backpack to stop him. I was so frustrated that my week began that way. I lost it. Screamed my head off. Then apologized for screaming. Class sucked after that. They learned nothing. My other class that day was also dysfunctional.
Regardless of the details, it really upsets me that I get so upset. I feel unfit to be around kids when I feel that frustrated.
Today was better. I planned a really simple lesson. Introduction – notes – independent work – discussion. It was highly teacher-centered, but I’m learning that that’s what I’m going to have to do this year if I want my kids to pass the regents exam. I’ve been really fighting against this, internally. Teaching sixth grade for two years, I got used to planning elaborate, fun hands-on experiences. We were able to cover less material and go into more depth. Maybe this kind of letting go of the need to make it like last year will actually help keep me sane.
The work in the science closet is really slow going. I finished putting up some shelves today. There’s more though. And then painting. And then cleaning supplies and moving them to the new shelves… and then cleaning off the old shelves. Ugh.
I’m feeling pretty isolated at this point. I haven’t had substantial collaboration with any teachers lately.


